Ebase XI on digital ocean

Post any questions you have about using the Verj.io Studio, including client and server-side programming with Javascript or FPL, and integration with databases, web services etc.

Moderators: Jon, Steve, Ian, Dave

kotinkarwak
Ebase User
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:55 pm

Ebase XI on digital ocean

#1

Postby kotinkarwak » Tue Dec 15, 2015 2:44 pm

Have worked through the tech note for installing ebase on digitalocean and needed advice on how to proceed in pushing a publishe to the server. At the moment, the URL http://<server>:3030 points to the tomcat page, this confirms install run ok but need to publish a sample app.

Also, will a similar file (Linux tar) be available for new release of ebase for testing at this early stage?

Regards.
0 x
ebasetech v5

Skype: mateso08
Location: Kenya

Jon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1342
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:49 pm

#2

Postby Jon » Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:26 pm

If you're using Ebase Version 5, then you develop your application locally and then deploy it to your Digital Ocean server. If you haven't already done so, you should first configure security for the server admin app and deployment on the new server. Start the server admin app locally and click the help icon at the top of the page for more information on this.

Once security is configured, you can deploy your application - you will need to enter a URL for the target server. If you haven't changed this, it will be http://<ip address>:3030/ebase. If you need to create any database tables or configure database data as part of your deployment, you should create a SQL file in the designer and include this with the deployment - see the deployment documentation for details of how to do this. The application is then available as soon as it has been deployed.

The Linux Ebase tar file can be downloaded from our website www.ebasetech.com.
0 x

kotinkarwak
Ebase User
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:55 pm

#3

Postby kotinkarwak » Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:58 pm

Thanks Jon.
Have completed the v5 install, run the configuration of the Digital Ocean ebase server and from my development machine (also running v5) have performed a deployment which needed to be installed at server end. Completed the install at serve and now wondering what would be the URL for the app.
Have tried


<server>:3030/<project> 404 status
<server>:3030/<project>/<form> 404 status
<server>:3030/ebase/<project> 404 status

The deployment details indicate deployment content as follows

File path
R100_GettingStarted/GettingStarted
R100_GettingStarted/R100_GettingStarted.ebproject

Only path working is for the ebase help document
<server>:3030/ebase
0 x
ebasetech v5

Skype: mateso08
Location: Kenya

Jon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1342
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:49 pm

#4

Postby Jon » Wed Dec 16, 2015 8:39 am

URL is of the type:

domain:port/webapp/formname.eb
e.g. 234.123.456.789:3030/ebase/myForm.eb

There are some other URLs available. Here's the doc
http://dev-docs.verj.io/ufs/doc/Form_Urls.htm

You can change the port in server.xml (in tomcat/conf). Usually 3030 is just used for testing/development, 80 (which can be omitted in the URL as it is the default) is used for production.
0 x

kotinkarwak
Ebase User
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:55 pm

#5

Postby kotinkarwak » Mon Dec 21, 2015 11:50 am

Hi,
I have managed to install and publish from my local machine to a digitalOcean server running the ebaseXi (v5.0.1) and MySQL.
I am wondering, how I would develop from within the digitalOcean server since the client code is available there.

I have installed VNC and able to load/connect to server in "window" mode via TightVNC but starting the client designer software fails. Error as follows

Code: Select all

ebase@ebase-XI&#58;/home/ebaseXi64/UfsClient$ ./start_ebase_designer.sh
No protocol specified
Exception in thread "main" java.awt.AWTError&#58; Can't connect to X11 window server using '&#58;0' as the value of the DISPLAY variable.
        at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.initDisplay&#40;Native Method&#41;
        at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.access$200&#40;X11GraphicsEnvironment.java&#58;65&#41;
        at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment$1.run&#40;X11GraphicsEnvironment.java&#58;115&#41;
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged&#40;Native Method&#41;
        at sun.awt.X11GraphicsEnvironment.<clinit>&#40;X11GraphicsEnvironment.java&#58;74&#41;
        at java.lang.Class.forName0&#40;Native Method&#41;
        at java.lang.Class.forName&#40;Class.java&#58;264&#41;
        at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.createGE&#40;GraphicsEnvironment.java&#58;102&#41;
        at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.getLocalGraphicsEnvironment&#40;GraphicsEnvironment.java&#58;81&#41;
        at sun.awt.X11.XToolkit.<clinit>&#40;XToolkit.java&#58;126&#41;
        at java.lang.Class.forName0&#40;Native Method&#41;
        at java.lang.Class.forName&#40;Class.java&#58;264&#41;
        at java.awt.Toolkit$2.run&#40;Toolkit.java&#58;860&#41;
        at java.awt.Toolkit$2.run&#40;Toolkit.java&#58;855&#41;
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged&#40;Native Method&#41;
        at java.awt.Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit&#40;Toolkit.java&#58;854&#41;
        at javax.swing.ImageIcon.<init>&#40;ImageIcon.java&#58;159&#41;
        at javax.swing.ImageIcon.<init>&#40;ImageIcon.java&#58;186&#41;
        at com.ebasetech.ufs.designer.client.DesignerIconFactory.getImageIcon&#40;DesignerIconFactory.java&#58;79&#41;
        at com.ebasetech.ufs.designer.client.DesignerApplet.<clinit>&#40;DesignerApplet.java&#58;106&#41;
java is installed

Code: Select all

vnc@ebase-XI&#58;~$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_51"
Java&#40;TM&#41; SE Runtime Environment &#40;build 1.7.0_51-b13&#41;
Java HotSpot&#40;TM&#41; 64-Bit Server VM &#40;build 24.51-b03, mixed mode&#41;
Last edited by kotinkarwak on Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0 x
ebasetech v5

Skype: mateso08
Location: Kenya

Jon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1342
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:49 pm

#6

Postby Jon » Mon Dec 21, 2015 12:29 pm

You need an xwindows environment on your linux server - I'm not sure from the exception whether or not you've got this. You might try one or both of:

export TERM=xterm
export DISPLAY=127.0.0.1

before starting the designer.
0 x

kotinkarwak
Ebase User
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:55 pm

#7

Postby kotinkarwak » Mon Dec 21, 2015 1:13 pm

UPDATE: RUNNING OK. will update on settings


I believe is installed since I can run a test by starting xclock.


the settings for parameters is as follows

From the putty terminal connection

Code: Select all

vnc@ebase-XI&#58;~$ echo $DISPLAY
localhost&#58;10.0
vnc@ebase-XI&#58;~$ echo $TERM
xterm
from a session on the started vnc X desktop

Code: Select all

vnc@ebase-XI&#58;~$ echo $DISPLAY
&#58;1.0
vnc@ebase-XI&#58;~$ echo $TERM
xterm
UPDATE
changed the file /home/ebaseXi64/UfsClient/start_ebase_designer.sh
by commeting out the line setting DISPLAY
0 x
ebasetech v5

Skype: mateso08
Location: Kenya

Janice87
Ebase User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 9:48 am

Re: Ebase XI on digital ocean

#8

Postby Janice87 » Tue May 10, 2016 5:53 am

kotinkarwak wrote:Have worked through the tech note for installing ebase on digitalocean and needed advice on how to proceed in pushing a publishe to the server. At the moment, the URL http://<server>:3030 points to the tomcat page, this confirms install run ok but need to publish a sample sitelock review.

Also, will a similar file (Linux tar) be available for new release of ebase for testing at this early stage?

Regards.
I'm new here and I'm facing problems in installing ebase.
Can any one guide me wiht the right method to use and install Ebase.
Thanks in advance
0 x

Jon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1342
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:49 pm

#9

Postby Jon » Tue May 10, 2016 8:25 am

Sure, what problem do you have? Normally, you just download the appropriate file for your OS from our website http://www.ebasetech.com.
0 x


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests