list item does not show the point in PDF

Post any questions you have about using the Verj.io Studio, including client and server-side programming with Javascript or FPL, and integration with databases, web services etc.

Moderators: Jon, Steve, Ian, Dave

xren
Ebase User
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Ottawa

list item does not show the point in PDF

#1

Postby xren » Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:30 pm

Hi,

I have a text area with ckeditor feature.
Then I added list and items using ckeditor and the list, the point before each item in the list looks fine in the ckeditor. But when i print this out to PDF, the points before each item in the list do not show in PDF.

Can this be fixed?

Thanks,
Xiaoli
0 x

Steve
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Sandy, UK
Contact:

#2

Postby Steve » Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:13 am

Hi Xiaoli,

I am assuming you mean that you have a rich text editor and you have a HTML list in the rich text editor (that shows bullet points).

The PDF code will only print out the LI tags in the HTML if the field is readonly or the PDF is in report mode when printed.

Steve
0 x

xren
Ebase User
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Ottawa

#3

Postby xren » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:11 pm

Hi Steve,

Yes. It is rich text editor. I have a html list in the rich text editor and it show bullets points in the rich text editor and it shows well when display only page.

But when print out to pdf (with report mode set to true), the list items are printed out ok in a list format but without the points before them. (not tag are printed)

I didn't get what you mean, do you mean that that is how PDF print works? it will not print out the point before each list item?

Xiaoli
0 x

Steve
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Sandy, UK
Contact:

#4

Postby Steve » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:18 pm

Hi Xiaoli,

I have not actually tested this. I would have thought that if the text area has HTML code it, it would print it.

Perhaps you need to debug the text that the PDF uses to generate the PDF.

To do this you can add:

Code: Select all

<logger name="com.ebasetech.ufs.runtime.output" additivity="false">
    <level value="ALL" />
    <appender-ref ref="SYSLOG"/>
  </logger>
to the <install-dir>/UfsServer/tomcat/ufs/WEB-INF/classes/log4J.properties

Note... add this underneath the appenders.

Restart the Server and test again.

You will see the debug lines:

PDF XHTML Contents:
......<html here....>

in one of the log files.

If you send this output to support@ebasetech.com, perhaps I can tell you why it is not working.

Steve
0 x

xren
Ebase User
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Ottawa

#5

Postby xren » Tue Oct 13, 2015 5:50 pm

Hi Steve,

I changed the log4j.xml by your suggestion:

<root>
<priority>
<appender>
</root>
<logger>
<level>
<appender>
</logger>

There is no log4j.properties file under that directory.
However, it seems not working. my server may not use log4j.xml at all.

In the UFSSetup.properties there is the following setting:
#
# logging parameters
#
# logDirName is relative to UfsServer/tomcat/bin
Ufs.logDirName=../logs
Ufs.logFileName=ufsserver.log
Ufs.retainOldLogs=false
Ufs.logError=true
Ufs.logInfo=true

Can you let me know how to setup the log correctly to log the pdf generating action?

Thanks,
Xiaoli
0 x

Steve
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Sandy, UK
Contact:

#6

Postby Steve » Wed Oct 14, 2015 8:56 am

Hi Xiaoli,

My mistake I did mean the log4J.xml

Once you have adjusted the log4J.xml file you should see the debug message in one of the log files. Have a look in all the log files within the UfsServer/tomcat/logs directory.

Kind regards

Steve
0 x

Steve
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Sandy, UK
Contact:

#7

Postby Steve » Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:06 am

Hi Xiaoli,

I just tested this. I found the log output in ufsserver.log

Here's a snippet from my log file.

Code: Select all


Wed Oct 14 10&#58;12&#58;30&#58; DEBUG PDF XHTML Contents&#58;
Wed Oct 14 10&#58;12&#58;30&#58; DEBUG <html lang="EN" xmlns="http&#58;//www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<!-- 
 Powered by Ebase
 www.ebasetech.com
 -->

<head>
<META http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">

<meta content="text/html" http-equiv="Content-Type">

<title></title>

<style type="text/css">
<!--input, textarea, select &#123;border&#58; thin solid black;&#125;

#ebPDFPageNumber&#58;before &#123;

0 x

xren
Ebase User
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Ottawa

#8

Postby xren » Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:40 pm

Hi Steve,

I tried on log4j.xml. However, I did not find any related log. even more interesting, there is nothing recorded to ufsserver.log any more.

Regards,
Xiaoli
0 x

Steve
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Sandy, UK
Contact:

#9

Postby Steve » Mon Oct 19, 2015 8:27 am

Hi,

Can you send your log4J.xml to support@ebasetech.com

I will take a look.

Thanks

Steve
0 x

xren
Ebase User
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Ottawa

#10

Postby xren » Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:12 pm

Hi Steve,

The logging works now. Here is the pdf content, which doesn't show the point before each list item:

Tue Oct 20 13:20:16: DEBUG PDF XHTML Contents:
Tue Oct 20 13:20:16: DEBUG <html>
<Powered>

<head>
<META>

<meta>

<title></title>

<style>
<input>
</style>

<link>

<link>

<link>

<link>

<link>

<link>

<link>

<style>
</Start>
</style>

<style>
<!--
-->
</style>

</head>

<body>

<div>
<table>

<tr>

<td></td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td></td>
<td>

<form>

<div>

<input>
<input>
<input>
<input>
<input>
<input>

<div></div>

<div></div>

<div>


<div>

<div>

<div>
<p>First Line</p>

<ul>
<li>Item 1</li>
<li>test item 2 in a list</li>
<li>3 in the list</li>
<li>4 in the list</li>
</ul>

<p>Text after lists.</p>

<p>&nbsp;</p>
</div>
</div>

</div>



</div>
</div>

<input>

</form>

</td>
<td></td>

</tr>

<tr>

<td></td>

</tr>

</table>

</div>
</body>

</html>
0 x

Steve
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Sandy, UK
Contact:

#11

Postby Steve » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:16 am

Hi Xiaoli,

Could you either send the debug in an attached file to support@ebasetech.com

or

wrap the DEBUG in the code tags?

Kind regards

Steve
0 x

Steve
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 3:44 pm
Location: Sandy, UK
Contact:

#12

Postby Steve » Wed Oct 28, 2015 12:32 pm

Hi Xiaoli,

I have been away for a few days.

I have traced the problem down to the styling added to the form:

Code: Select all

/* - - - Start of UOHI_REHAB_RESET - - - */
/* v1.0 | 20080212 */
You have added some styles:

Code: Select all

html, body, div, span, applet, object, iframe,
	h1, h2, h3, h4, h5, h6, p, blockquote, pre,
	a, abbr, acronym, address, big, cite, code,
	del, dfn, em, font, img, ins, kbd, q, s, samp,
	small, strike, strong, sub, sup, tt, var,
	b, u, i, center,
	dl, dt, dd, ol, ul, li,
	fieldset, form, label, legend,
	table, caption, tbody, tfoot, thead, tr, th, td &#123;
		margin&#58; 0;
		padding&#58; 0;
		border&#58; 0;
		outline&#58; 0;
		font-size&#58; 100%;
		vertical-align&#58; baseline;
		background&#58; transparent;
	&#125;


	ol, ul &#123; list-style&#58; none&#125;; 
The above styling:

1. Removes the list item style:

Code: Select all

ol, ul &#123; list-style&#58; none&#125;
2. The block of code above removes the margins, so removes all the bullet points as they as rendered before the margin.


If you wrap these styles in @media screen style, this will fix your problem:

Code: Select all

/* - - - End of UOHI_REHAB- - - */
/* - - - Start of UOHI_REHAB_RESET - - - */
/* v1.0 | 20080212 */
@media screen &#123;
	html, body, div, span, applet, object, iframe,
	h1, h2, h3, h4, h5, h6, p, blockquote, pre,
	a, abbr, acronym, address, big, cite, code,
	del, dfn, em, font, img, ins, kbd, q, s, samp,
	small, strike, strong, sub, sup, tt, var,
	b, u, i, center,
	dl, dt, dd, ol, ul, li,
	fieldset, form, label, legend,
	table, caption, tbody, tfoot, thead, tr, th, td &#123;
		margin&#58; 0;
		padding&#58; 0;
		border&#58; 0;
		outline&#58; 0;
		font-size&#58; 100%;
		vertical-align&#58; baseline;
		background&#58; transparent;
	&#125;


	ol, ul &#123; list-style&#58; none; 
&#125;
I hope this helps

Steve
0 x

xren
Ebase User
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Ottawa

#13

Postby xren » Thu Oct 29, 2015 7:01 pm

The problem is fixed.

Many thanks to you Steve!
0 x

fronsky
Ebase User
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:52 pm

Re: list item does not show the point in PDF

#14

Postby fronsky » Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:25 pm

Hi,

How did you enable a rich text editor area like ckeditor within an ebase text field?

Rgds,
Harry
0 x


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests