External CSS error

Post any questions you have about using the Verj.io Studio, including client and server-side programming with Javascript or FPL, and integration with databases, web services etc.

Moderators: Jon, Steve, Ian, Dave

azaleas
Ebase User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 12:44 pm

External CSS error

#1

Postby azaleas » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:38 am

I'm trying to use Bootstrap CSS on my project. Whenever I add a class I get this error on WYSIWYG window:

This page cannot be displayed due to an unexpected error, or invalid content.
It may display if you undo your last action.


But, when I run the form it shows the project and that the class is added successfully.
0 x

Jon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1342
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:49 pm

#2

Postby Jon » Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:57 am

It usually means that there is a syntax error somewhere on the page and the parser in the page editor can't handle it. The page editor uses XHTML and all tags have to be correctly closed. At runtime you are probably using HTML instead of XHTML (this choice is configured in Form Properties), but browsers are generally more forgiving.

You should check the syntax of whatever is being introduced when this error occurs. You might use the browser tools to do this.
0 x

alexmcclune
Ebase User
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:16 pm

#3

Postby alexmcclune » Thu Oct 08, 2015 12:28 pm

Hi,

I've had the same trouble as well - I was advised that you could use the Custom Layout with Velocity...unfortunately I haven't had a chance to try it yet.

I did see the Bootstrap working when I ran the forms, everything worked as expected but obviously it isn't displayed in the designer.
0 x

kotinkarwak
Ebase User
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:55 pm

#4

Postby kotinkarwak » Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:14 am

v5.0.0
The error message shown on adding of the css script bootstrap.min.js adding to form or via template both options show error.

Checked through the html tags and look ok.

Very basic project file with all local resources
https://mega.nz/#!qQxHBJBb

UPDATE: noted that the CSS file can be added but the mentioned situation only happens when a class is added to a control that would be derived from the CSS file I.e 'row'
0 x
ebasetech v5

Skype: mateso08
Location: Kenya

Jon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1342
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:49 pm

#5

Postby Jon » Mon Nov 23, 2015 9:19 am

Where are you adding the row class, to which control, where is it configured? Do you have the exception that is causing the problem - this may be shown in the console window if you start the designer with start_ebase_designer.bat or alternatively in UfsClient/logs/ebase-designer.log.

In both V4 and V5, Ebase Xi uses a software component called Flying Saucer to render the WYSIWYG page view, and there are a number of problems with this which can give the sort of problems you are describing. We will be replacing this in the near future.
0 x

kotinkarwak
Ebase User
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:55 pm

#6

Postby kotinkarwak » Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:00 pm

Class added to a form control
0 x
ebasetech v5

Skype: mateso08
Location: Kenya

Jon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1342
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:49 pm

#7

Postby Jon » Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:07 pm

There is no form control in Ebase. Can you clarify please.
0 x

kotinkarwak
Ebase User
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:55 pm

#8

Postby kotinkarwak » Tue Nov 24, 2015 10:29 am

Sorry, meant frame control.
0 x
ebasetech v5

Skype: mateso08
Location: Kenya

Jon
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1342
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:49 pm

#9

Postby Jon » Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:36 pm

We don't have one of those either! By "control" I mean one of the items that you drag from the Palette View onto a page.
0 x

kotinkarwak
Ebase User
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:55 pm

#10

Postby kotinkarwak » Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:08 pm

panel container, changed id in html Element properties
0 x
ebasetech v5

Skype: mateso08
Location: Kenya

AJDulk
Ebase User
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:18 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: External CSS error

#11

Postby AJDulk » Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:05 am

The error with Bootstrap is caused by their clearfix.

Their version is as follows:

Code: Select all

// Clearfix
//
// For modern browsers
// 1. The space content is one way to avoid an Opera bug when the
//    contenteditable attribute is included anywhere else in the document.
//    Otherwise it causes space to appear at the top and bottom of elements
//    that are clearfixed.
// 2. The use of `table` rather than `block` is only necessary if using
//    `:before` to contain the top-margins of child elements.
//
// Source: http://nicolasgallagher.com/micro-clearfix-hack/

.clearfix() {
  &:before,
  &:after {
    content: " "; // 1
    display: table; // 2
  }
  &:after {
    clear: both;
  }
}
I have replaced it with the following and this works:

Code: Select all

// Clearfix
//
// For modern browsers
// 1. The space content is one way to avoid an Opera bug when the
//    contenteditable attribute is included anywhere else in the document.
//    Otherwise it causes space to appear at the top and bottom of elements
//    that are clearfixed.
//
// Source: http://cssmojo.com/the-very-latest-clearfix-reloaded/

.clearfix() {
  &:after {
    visibility: hidden;
    content: " "; // 1
    display: block;
    height: 0;
    clear: both;
  }
}
BTW: This is found in the "clearfix.less" file from "bootstrap-3.3.7\less\mixins" in the self compilable bootstrap download.
0 x


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests