Connecting to an existing local database

Post any questions you have about using the Verj.io Studio, including client and server-side programming with Javascript or FPL, and integration with databases, web services etc.

Moderators: Jon, Steve, Ian, Dave

robdoddy
Ebase User

Connecting to an existing local database

Postby robdoddy » Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:21 am

Hello everyone. First of all, apologies for the noob-ishness of this post, I am a student learning my way around Ebase for a project and its a great program from what I have used so far.

My question is about how to connect to/import a local MS Access database to be used to pull data into a form/table. I have a simple Access DB and I would like to be able to read-write information to some of the tables in the database using a frontend created in Ebase Xi. Having watched all of the tutorial videos on the website and read through the help pages, I am no nearer to understanding how to do this. Is it possible for someone to explain as to whereabouts I need to place the MDB database file in the file folder structure so that I can point Ebase to it, and how I would go about making the connection? Or alternatively link me to a document that explains how to do this? I am running Ebase Xi Community Edition on Windows, with the server and designer on the same OS if that helps.

Sorry to be a pain, any help or tips would be very much appreciated. Many thanks.
0 x

Hovik

Postby Hovik » Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:04 pm

Before connecting to MS Access using the Jadazoom driver, files izmjniado.dll and 11100319.LIC should be copied
from the Ebase Xi distribution folder OptionalLibraries/jadozoom to the target Windows server
(Copy the files to C:\Windows\System32 or equivalent, or copy them to C:\Program Files\infozoom)

You then need to define the connection string. One way of doing this is to add it to file ufs.xml in folder UfsServer\tomcat\conf\Catalina\localhost

I suggest the following steps:

1. Stop the Ebase server