Timer event - is there such a thing?

Post any questions you have about using the Verj.io Studio, including client and server-side programming with Javascript or FPL, and integration with databases, web services etc.

Moderators: Jon, Steve, Ian, Dave

Indy
Ebase User

Postby Indy » Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:53 pm

Hi,

I'm looking for a method of polling a form and trapping an event when a field is updated. As there isn't a "timer" event in EBase, does anyone have a method of achieving this?

Thanks
0 x
Indy

Joost
Ebase User

Postby Joost » Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:53 pm

Timer... perhaps you could add a meta refresh tag, use a javascript timer function or a cron-job and wget a form.
0 x

Indy
Ebase User

Postby Indy » Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:02 pm

Hi Joost,

Any chance you could give me some example code? I'm not a Java developer so haven't really done any Java coding.

Thanks
0 x
Indy

AJDulk
Ebase User

Postby AJDulk » Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:44 pm

Meta Refresh Tag - Is an HTML construct, normally used in the body tag to automatically refresh a page after a certain amount of time.

Javascript - is a scripting language understood by most browsers that run client side.

Cron Job
- is a scheduled task on of the Unix variants (Unix, Linux, BSD, ...)

wget - is a program, initially under the Unix variants but now ported to Windows as well, that downloads a web-page / site.

None of this requires pure Java programming, though Javascript is based on Java.

I have a question for you - are you trying to watch another site or are you wanting to watch your own form as a user is filling it in?

Depending on your answer to this, depends on whether Joost's answer is relevant to your question.
0 x

Indy
Ebase User

Postby Indy » Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:24 pm

Hi AJDulk,